How to Unsend an Email in Gmail on Desktop or Mobile


  • You can unsend an email in Gmail on a computer or mobile device with Google’s Undo feature.
  • On a computer, messages can be recalled up to 30 seconds after sending; on the mobile app, you have up to five seconds.
  • You can change your desktop settings in Gmail to unsend messages within five, 10, 20, or 30 seconds after sending them. 
  • Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

Whether you’ve noticed a typo or forgot to add an important detail, there may come a time when you need to recall an email for editing purposes before it gets to the recipient. Thankfully, if you use Gmail, this is possible with Google’s Undo option. 

While you’re limited when it comes to the amount of time you have to unsend an email in Gmail — 30 seconds is the maximum on a computer, while the mobile app allows just five seconds — if you spring into action quickly, recalling your message is simple enough and only takes a tap or click. 

How to unsend an email in Gmail on a computer

1. As soon as you send an email, look for the Message sent pop-up which will appear in the lower-left side of your screen. You will have the option to Undo or View message.

2. Click Undo. The message will unsend, and a window to re-compose the message will appear in the bottom-right side of the screen. 

unsend email in gmail - undo option on desktop

Click “Undo.”

Insider


To choose how long you have to undo the sending of an email, click the Settings option (which looks like a small cog) in the upper-right corner of your screen, and then click See all settings. Look for the Undo Send section and next to it, click your chosen cancellation period of either five, 10, 20, or 30 seconds. Then click Save Changes.

[how-to-unsend-gmail-email-2.png:  / A Gmail account's settings screen with the Undo Send cancellation period selected.]

Select the cancellation period you want.

Jennifer Still


How to unsend an email in Gmail on a mobile device

The process to unsend an email in Gmail on an iPhone, iPad, or Android device is the same.

1. After you send an email, a Sent notification will appear at the bottom of the screen alongside an Undo option.

2. Tap Undo. The message will unsend, and you’ll be taken to a screen to re-compose the message.

[how-to-unsend-gmail-email-3.png:  The Gmail app’s “sent” notification with the Undo option.]

Click the Undo option after sending an email.

Jennifer Still




Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*

%d bloggers like this: